Hup Wei to fine-tune his techniques in Finland

 The Star Online>10/7/2008

KUALA LUMPUR: Olympic-bound high jumper Lee Hup Wei will concentrate on improving his techniques during a two-week stint in Finland.

The Selangor athlete, who will leave for the stint today, will also get to compete in two meets in Finland – the Joensu Elite on July 16 and Savo Elite on July 20.

The 21-year-old said that he was not satisfied with his performance since he qualified for the Olympics in the China Open in May. A 2.27m effort also erased a 12-year-old national record of 2.24m set by Loo Kum Zee in the 1995 Chiang Mai SEA Games.

 Struggling for form: Lee Hup Wei has performly poorly in his last three competitions.

But Hup Wei has performed dismally in three competitions – Taiwan Open (2.12m), Sukma (2.20m) and Selangor Open (2.04m). He was down to compete in the national championships in Bukit Jalil last week but withdrew because of poor form.

“I made steady progress under Cuban coach Antonio (Ibar Yznaga) since training under him at the beginning of last year.

“He helped me on my techniques but since he left for home in May, I have not recorded a good jump,” he said.

“I hope to train under a good coach in Finland who can help me to fine-tune my techniques. I will be up against world-class athletes in the Olympics and I hope to break my national record.”

Besides Hup Wei, the Malaysian qualifiers for the Olympics in athletics are walker Yuan Yufang and pole vaulter Roslinda Samsu.

~ by missjewelz on July 17, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
