Shuttlers inducted into the OCM Hall of Fame

The Star Online>5/2/2008

KUALA LUMPUR: Yew Cheng Hoe and Billy Ng, members of the victorious 1967 Thomas Cup team, are the latest former badminton champions to be inducted into the Olympic Council of Malaysia (OCM) Hall of Fame. 

Cheng Hoe and Billy were also members of the Malaysian men’s team who won the silver in the 1966 Asian Games in Bangkok. Cheng Hoe also won the Malaysian Open men’s singles title in 1964. 

Honoured: Former national shuttlers Billy Ng (left) and Yew Cheng Hoe posing with their Olympian trophies.

Other former top Malaysian athletes inducted into the Hall of Fame yesterday were Shaharuddin Jaffar (cycling) and Malek Noor (bodybuilding). 

Shaharuddin was the first Malaysian gold medallist in cycling at the SEAP Games in 1965 and went on to coach the national team from 1969 to 1982. Malek was a six-time winner of the Mr Asia crown in the heavyweight category


~ by missjewelz on February 8, 2008.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: