Shooting: Hasli wants calibre coach for Olympic challenge

The Star Online, 22/12/2007

 

 KUALA LUMPUR: Pistol shooter Hasli Izwan Amir Hassan (pic) needs a top notch coach to help him put up a good performance in next year’s Beijing Olympics. 

The 30-year-old Ipoh-born shooter is currently training under former international Mohd Hashim Desa. 

“Hashim has helped me a lot in my training and qualifying for the 25m rapid fire pistol event in the Olympics. He has rectified my mistakes but I need a specific coach who can help me improve my technique. I will be up against the world’s best in Beijing and I need a high quality coach,” said Hasli, who is Malaysia’s first shooter to qualify on merit for the Olympics. 

Hasli, a father of two, earned the Olympic ticket in the Asian Championships in Kuwait on Dec 9. He broke his own national record en route to a silver in the championships.  

“My dream of competing in the Olympics has come true. Now, I want to put up a good show in Beijing. To do that I need a good coach as well as training with the world’s top rapid fire pistol shooters, especially from Russia, China and Germany. 

“By training with the best I hope to better my national record as well as improve my world rankings,” said Hasli, who won the bronze in the Melbourne Commonwealth Games last year. 

To prepare for the Olympics, Hasli hopes to get a chance to test his skills against the world’s best at all the four tournaments in next year’s World Cup. 

The first meet is in Rio de Janeiro in March followed by Beijing in April. The other two will be held in Munich in May and Milan in June. 

“The World Cup in Beijing is an important one as it will give the shooters a chance to test the range used for the Olympics,” said Hasli

~ by missjewelz on December 27, 2007.

Leave a Reply

 
