Athletics: Boon Lim’s golden comeback

NST Online, 21/12/2007

By : Devinder Singh

Teoh Boon Lim.
Teoh Boon Lim.

NOT only did walker Teoh Boon Lim emerge from a six-year hiatus to win a Sea Games gold, he also defeated the two-time defending champion in the process.

Although the Malaysian walkers were a cut above the rest at Southeast Asian level, it was still no mean feat for 30-year-old Boon Lim, who only returned to action in August after calling it quits following his gold medal win at the 2001 Kuala Lumpur Sea Games.

But he underlined the seriousness of his comeback bid by leading from start to finish in the men’s 20km walk as defending champion Mohd Shahrulhaizy Abdul Rahman bit the dust after being disqualified for floating in the final 2km while desperately giving chase.

“My target was always winning gold because I did not come out of retirement to waste my time and lose. I was quite serious about this, I was not doing this for fun, as I was determined to prove myself.

“It is not easy for any athlete to come back after six years and then win gold at the Sea Games,” said Boon Lim, whose winning time of 1:30:37 was his best this year.

But he admitted that the Sea Games was not really the level to test his ability although by winning gold he believes he is headed in the direction.

“What I really want to do is to compete at Asian level. It has always been a dream of mine to win a medal at an Asian meet. But as of now I do not yet know what lies ahead,” he said.

Boon Lim, who is currently coaching junior walkers at the Bukit Jalil Sports School, hopes to build on his Sea Games success by regaining his place in the national walks team.

“I’ve informed the association (the Malaysian Amateur Athletic Union) of my intention to rejoin the national squad. I was told that they will discuss my situation early next year.

“Once that is settled, I hope to compete in the IAAF race walking circuit and the World Race Walking Cup in Russia in May,” he said.

~ by missjewelz on December 21, 2007.

One Response to “Athletics: Boon Lim’s golden comeback”

  1. sir teoh r so pro!

Leave a Reply

 
