Confident Josiah eyes second Olympic appearance

NST Online, 18/12/2007

THE Korat Sea Games was just part of the journey as national track cyclist Josiah Ng will now continue his trek towards a successful outing at next year’s Beijing Olympics.

With the qualifying ending only after the World Championship next March, Josiah is confident to make it through for a second Olympic appearance.

“I am very confident that I will qualify for the games, especially after making it into the final at the World Cup in Sydney and winning the gold at the Sea Games,” said Josiah, 27.

“All I need to do is to keep focus, be free of injury and take good care of myself before the Olympics.”

He also said he hopes to be more consistent and maintain a good form for the coming year.

And after bagging the gold in Korat, Josiah returned to play Santa Claus yesterday giving out early Christmas gifts to children at the FedEx-Shelter Home Christmas Party at Petaling Jaya.

“I had fun with the children here, this visit gives me the opportunity to give back to the society and I am happy to be their role model.

“I’ve always like to be a mentor to my younger teammates, and also to these young aspiring kids, by sharing my story.

“I hope to do more of this in the future,” said Josiah, who is in town for a one-week break and will return to Melbourne after Christmas to continue training. — SHIRLEXIA TAN

~ by missjewelz on December 18, 2007.

Leave a Reply

 
